Show All Answers
If you are a Jefferson County resident and moved; fill out the Change of Address Form (PDF) and email the Assessor, fax, mail, or drop off the form at the Assessor’s Office.
A New Resident Personal Property Assessment List (PDF) will need to be filled out only if you are a new resident for the current tax year. Email the Assessor, fax, mail, or drop off the form at the Assessor’s Office.
A tax waiver, also known as, Statement of Non-Assessment, indicates a specific person, business, or corporation does not owe any personal property taxes for a specified tax year. A tax waiver is only used to license a vehicle, motorcycle, trailer, or other assets. You may be entitled to a tax waiver if one of the following applies:
How to Apply for a Tax Waiver (Statement of Non-Assessment)Application for a tax waiver can be made in person, by mail, fax, or email. If applying by fax or email, please allow 24 hour process time. Along with the completed Tax Waiver Application and a Photo ID (if you have an out-of-state photo ID, please provide proof of address, e.g., piece of mail, lease agreement, electric bill), one of the following items is required:
To apply online, please click on the link below. Email address and fax number will be located on the top of the application form.
Tax Waiver Application (PDF)
Every person owning or holding real property or tangible personal property on the first day of January, including all such property purchased on that day shall be liable for taxes thereon during the same calendar year.
Every person, corporation, partnership or association owning or controlling tangible personal property shall file with the assessor of the county an itemized return listing all the tangible personal property so owned or controlled on January 1st. Personal property must be reported in the county where you resided on January 1st.
If you have resided and reported personal property last year in Jefferson County you will be mailed a personal property assessment list during the first week of January. You must fill out and return the form by March 1st.
Yes. …If any person shall fail to deliver the required [assessment] list to the assessor by the first day of March, the owner of the property which ought to have been listed shall be assessed a penalty added to the tax bill, based on the assessed value of the property that was not reported, as follows (in the following table). - Revised Statutes of Missouri 137.280
…If any person shall fail to deliver the required [assessment] list to the assessor by the first day of March, the owner of the property which ought to have been listed shall be assessed a penalty added to the tax bill, based on the assessed value of the property that was not reported, as follows (in the following table).
$0 to 1,000
$1,001 to 2,000
$2,001 to 3,000
$3,001 to 4,000
$4,001 to 5,000
$5,001 to 6,000
$6,001 to 7,000
$7,001 to 8,000
$8,001 to 9,000
$9,001 or More
The Assessor has the authority to waive the penalty in specific situations including:
Fill out the Change of Address Form (PDF) and email the Assessor, fax, mail, or drop off at the Assessor’s Office.
Jefferson County, as with most counties in Missouri, primarily values real estate for tax purposes using mass appraisal methodology. This method first determines the current replacement cost of all improvements, less any depreciation of those improvements. The depreciated value of the improvements is added to the value of the land to determine the fair market value of the property. The mass appraisal method is recognized as being one of the most efficient and fair methods of valuing many properties over a wide area.
State law requires all real property to be reassessed each odd-numbered year. Reassessment does not necessarily mean the value of the property will increase or decrease. Information and data pertaining to real estate values and costs are collected by the Assessor’s Office. Analysis and studies are performed to determine how the real estate market has changed and how it has affected assessed values. The conclusions determined from the data collected are used to determine if any changes are made to real estate values of the current reassessment year.
The price the property would sell for if offered for sale by someone willing, but not obligated to sell it, and bought by someone willing, but not forced to purchase it.
The percentage of the market value based upon the assessment level of the classification of the property.
For example: Market Value ($100,000) multiplied by Residential Assessment Level (19%) equals Assessed Value ($19,000).
There are several factors that can affect assessed value or taxes other than reassessment:
If you believe the Assessor’s value does not reflect the fair market value of your property first call the Assessor’s Office. An appraiser will review and discuss the value with you and examine any information pertaining to the value you wish to present. After this discussion with the Assessor’s Office, if you are not satisfied, you can file an appeal before the Board of Equalization (BOE). The appeal must be filed before the second Monday in July of each year. To file an appeal you must call the County Clerk’s Office at 636-797-5478.
If you are not satisfied with the Board of Equalization decision you may further appeal to the Missouri State Tax Commission. Information will be provided to you by the County Clerk’s Office.
Section 137082, Revised Statutes of Missouri allows the Assessor to remove the value of the residential property, on a pro-rata basis, that was destroyed by a natural disaster (e.g. tornado, flood, fire, earthquake). The Destroyed Residential Property form must be completed and emailed to the Real Estate Assessor. You may also fax, mail, or drop off the form at the Assessor’s Office in order to receive a reduction in value.
The Missouri Property Tax Credit Claim gives credit to certain senior citizens and 100 percent disabled individuals for a portion of the real estate taxes or rent they have paid for the year. The credit is for a maximum of $750 for renters and $1,100 for owners who owned and occupied their home. The actual credit is based on the amount of real estate taxes or rent paid and total household income (taxable and nontaxable).
You may qualify if:
If you are required to file a Missouri Individual Income Tax Return, you must use Form MO-1040 or Form MO-1040P with Property Tax Schedule (MO-PTS) attached. If you are not required to file a Missouri Individual Income Tax Return, then you may file the Missouri Property Tax Credit Claim (MO-PTC). Consult with your tax preparer or visit dor.mo.gov/personal/ptc/ for more information and forms.
If you own a mobile home or own more than 5 acres of land, you will need an Assessor's Certification Form 948. Please call the Assessor at 636-797-5466 to request this form. For more information about this program you can call the Missouri Department of Revenue at 573-751-3505 or Aging Ahead at 800-243-6060 or 636-253-0558.
You need to obtain a building permit for many reasons. A building permit ensures that your structure is in compliance with the building code and meets the minimum building standard. Building codes are rules that are intended to make buildings safe for the occupants that occupy the structure.
Insurance companies value building codes, when updated codes are in place this usually means the buildings are more safe, stronger, and more likely to withstand severe weather events lessening the amount of loss to property. Building codes can safeguard public health by regulating wastewater and other potential health hazards that may infiltrate into your neighborhood.
Repairs and maintenance: A permit shall not be required for minor repair work, including the replacement of lamps or the connection of approved portable electrical equipment to approved permanently installed receptacles.
Portable heating, cooking or clothes drying appliances. fixed piping system and are not interconnected to a power grid. The stopping of leaks in drains, water, soil, waste or vent pipe; provided, however, that if any concealed trap, drainpipe, water, soil, waste or vent pipe becomes defective and it becomes necessary to remove and replace the same with new material, such work shall be considered as new work and a permit shall be obtained and inspection made as provided in this code. The clearing of stoppages or the repairing of leaks in pipes, valves or fixtures, and the removal and re-installation of water closets, provided such repairs do not involve or require the replacement or rearrangement of valves, pipes or fixtures.
Where equipment replacements and repairs must be performed in an emergency situation, the permit application shall be submitted within the next working business day to the building official.
Application or notice to the building official is not required for ordinary repairs to structures, replacement of lamps or the connection of approved portable electrical equipment to approved permanently installed receptacles. Such repairs shall not include the cutting away of any wall, partition or portion thereof, the removal or cutting of any structural beam or load bearing support, or the removal or change of any required means of egress, or rearrangement of parts of a structure affecting the egress requirements; nor shall ordinary repairs include addition to, alteration of, replacement or relocation of any of the following:
Yes, all lands and lots on which taxes are 3 years delinquent are offered for sale on the fourth Monday of August each year.
You must be a Missouri resident, at least 18 years of age, and provide the Collector with an affidavit attesting that you owe no delinquent property taxes (Real & Personal). To bid at the tax sale, you need to complete the bidder’s affidavit within the Bidder’s Packet. A bid package, including the Affidavit is available under Land Sale Documents or can be picked up at the office. You will need to sign, and have it notarized before turning in to the Collector for a bid # for the auction. It is required to show your Missouri identification to apply for your bid number. We will only issue bid numbers the week before the sale and stop issuing bid numbers at 9 AM the day of the sale. Completing the affidavit before the day of the sale will insure you do not miss the start of the auction. If you are a business, you must be registered in Missouri and bring a certificate of Good Standing and Articles of Organization or Corporation info to obtain a bid #.
If you are out of state – you must appoint a Missouri resident to act as your agent.
In a typical year there will be approximately 500 properties offered for sale.
The listing of eligible properties will be posted on the Collector’s website in June. Properties will also be advertised in “The Countian” for three consecutive Fridays, before the sale, with the last publication to be at least fifteen days prior to the fourth Monday in August.
The sale is a public auction. You must have completed a bidder’s affidavit and have a bid # to participate in the sale. The properties will be offered in the order in which they appear in the newspaper. They will start with 1st sales, 2nd sales, and finally 3rd sales. The minimum acceptable bid will be the amount of taxes and sale expenses due for the property. There is no upper limit on the amount which can be bid, and the sale will be to the highest bidder. Bidders must be present to participate.
The sale is held in the Assembly Room on the main level in the Administration Building at 729 Maple St, Hillsboro MO 63050. It is held on the fourth Monday in August each year and starts promptly at 10:00am.
If you are a successful bidder, you will wait until your portion of the sale is complete and then proceed to the Collector’s office. You must pay within 2 hours after all the properties have been offered. If you win a bid and do not pay the bid amount, you will be charged a fine of 25% of the bid amount, the purchase will be voided, and the property will once again be offered for sale.
We accept cash, check, cashier’s check, money order, debit and credit cards. The quickest form of payment is a check. There are fees associated with using a debit or credit card. The processing company charges a fee of $3.95 for a Visa Debit Card. Any other type of debit or credit card is a fee of 2.4% of total amount being charged.
There is a waiting period (redemption period) of one year for 1st and 2nd sales, during which time the owner of the property can redeem your interest in the property by paying to the Collector the amount of your original investment, any subsequent taxes you have paid, plus interest. They are also required to pay for the title report and mailing fees incurred by the purchaser after March 1st. The redemption money will be paid to you by the Collector, in exchange for the Certificate of Purchase. For 3rd sales the waiting period is 90 days past the notification dates. NOTE: The tax sale purchaser is solely responsible for submitting all receipts to the Collector immediately upon completion of title search and mailings in order to be reimbursed if the property is redeemed.
The certificate of purchase is the document the tax sale purchaser receives as evidence of his/her interest in the property. This will be mailed to you once the sale is complete and it has been recorded by the Collector. You will receive your certificate of purchase approximately two weeks after the sale. This is a very important document. You will need the certificate of purchase to obtain a Collector’s deed or a redemption check if property is redeemed.
You are only purchasing the tax lien on the property until you obtain a deed. Once you have been issued a Collector’s deed, the property is yours.
If your purchase is redeemed, the tax & costs portion of your original investment will earn simple interest at the rate of ten percent (10%) per annum. No interest will be paid on the surplus amount (amount bid over amount due). Any subsequent taxes that you will pay will earn simple interest at the rate of eight percent (8%) per annum.
Before you are eligible to receive a Collector’s deed you must follow the procedures described in state statute RSMO 140.405. The following is a link to the state website - go to Collectors-then Tax Sale Manual: Missouri State Tax Commission . This statute sets forth the requirements that must be met. The Collector’s Office will give out instructions and a checklist to help with the process. Neither the Collector nor the employees of the Collector’s office can provide legal advice. We recommend consulting a real estate attorney to help you comply with the statutes.
If your business is selling a product you would need a Jefferson County Merchant’s License. In order to obtain a Merchant’s License, the applicant must provide proof that neither the applicant nor the property owner, where applicable, owes delinquent real or personal property taxes to Jefferson County. Section 135.010 Jefferson County Code of Ordinances.
You also need to file your business with the Jefferson County Assessor’s office.
Personal property tax is a tax based upon the value of taxable personal property. Taxable personal property consist of motor vehicles, trailers, mobile homes, watercraft, boat motors, aircraft, livestock, farm machinery and equipment, agricultural crops and any other personal property not exempted by law. The Market Value of an item is established by the County Assessor using a standard rate book provided by the Missouri State Tax Commission. The Assessed Value is a percentage of the Market Value. The Assessed Value of an item multiplied by the tax rate (levy) for your district determines the amount of personal property tax you pay.
All taxable personal property shall be assessed in the county in which the owner resides the first day of January each year.
Each year, you are required to fill out an assessment form with the County Assessor’s Office listing the taxable personal property you own January 1st of the tax year. Generally, these forms are mailed out to the taxpayer in January and are due back to the Assessor no later than March 1st. If you do not get a form to fill out in the mail, please contact the Assessor’s office at 636-797-5343. Substantial late filing fees are assigned by the Assessor if you do not return your form by the deadline.
If you have recently moved into the county, it is your responsibility to contact the Assessor’s office to obtain an assessment form and be added to the county tax rolls. It is also your responsibility to keep us informed of your current address.
Tax bills will appear on our website in November and will be mailed late November. If you have not received a bill by December 1st please contact the Collector’s office at 636-797-5406 to check the status of your tax record and verify the mailing address. Personal Property Tax is due on December 31st of the year and become delinquent on January 1st of the proceeding year.
Personal property is based on ownership as of January 1, each year. If you purchase a vehicle January 2nd you do not pay on it until the following year, but if it’s owned on the first day you pay for the full year regardless of when it is sold. Unfortunately, the law has no provisions for pro-rating taxes due.
Payment should be made payable to Michelle Worth, Collector of Jefferson County, and may be paid in the form of cash, cashier’s check, money order, personal check, any major credit card, debit card or by E-check. You may pay at our office located at 729 Maple Street, Hillsboro, MO 63050, online at Jefferson County Property Taxes or by Interactive Voice Response by calling 877-690-3729 (if paying by IVR you will need to know your bill number and the Jefferson County Jurisdiction code "3515").
As a taxpayer, please be aware that interest and penalty start accruing January 1st of each year. If you do not receive your bill by the end of November, it is your responsibility to contact the Collector’s Office to find out why. The Collector’s Office does not have the authority to remove or reduce interest and penalties per state statute Number 139.100.3. (The Attorney General for the State of Missouri has issued a legal opinion Number 80-2004 that the Collector of Revenue does not have the authority to waive penalties or interest on delinquent real or personal property taxes.)
There is a $1 fee for a duplicate copy or waiver. You may mail in your request, giving us your name and the year(s) that you need along with $1 for each copy needed. You may also come to the office and pick up a copy at the cashier window for $1 each.
A free copy of the receipt can be accessed through this Collector website by selecting Tax Search to do a Personal Property Search by your name. You will want to select the tax year that you need on the drop down and then click on Tax Receipt in blue text on the right side of the screen.
A free copy of the waiver can be accessed through this website by selecting the Assessor on the Departments list and selecting Property Record Search to do a Personal Property Search by your name. You will find a waiver section at the bottom. Click on the green print button.
We can also fax copies of paid receipts to several license offices located in Jefferson and St Louis County. Please call our office in advance to find out which license offices we have a fax service with. If choosing to do this, be aware that most license offices will collect a fee of $4 for this service. Also note, the Jefferson County Collector sends information weekly to the Department of Revenue informing them of paid taxes, so on most occasions the license office should be able to access our records and see your information.
A waiver may be issued for the reasons listed below:
Waiver applications are generated through the County Assessor’s office and can be accessed through their website by clicking on the Property Record Search button.
Yes. Please be sure to add them correctly and send the exact amount due.
Yes. By state law, your tax obligation is established on January 1st. Even if you move to a different state after January 1st, you are still taxable for the year. Unfortunately, the law has no provisions for pro-rating taxes due.
Tax bills will be available on our website in November and mailed from the printer in late November. If you do not receive a bill by December 1st please contact the Collector’s office at 636-797-5406 to verify your mailing address.
Real Estate Taxes are due on December 31st of the current year and become delinquent on January 1st of the proceeding year.
Addresses can be changed by contacting either the Assessor’s or Collector’s offices. If you are changing the address after you received your bill, you would need to contact the Collector. If you are changing your address prior to bills being mailed, please contact the Assessor’s office.
The name on real estate bills can only be changed by recording a new deed. To have a new deed prepared you may want to contact a title company or real estate attorney.
As soon as the new deed is recorded in the Recorder of Deed’s office, the Assessor’s file will reflect the change. In most instances, the seller’s portion of taxes is credited at the closing and the buyer is responsible for the full year of taxes. Refer to your settlement statement or contact the title company that you closed through if you have further questions.
As an owner of real estate it is your responsibility to make sure the taxes are paid each year by December 31st. If you do not receive your tax bill by the end of November, please call the office so that we may mail you a duplicate statement. Tax bills are mailed as a courtesy and failure to receive a tax bill does not relieve you of the obligation to pay by December 31st each year. State statute requires us to collect interest and penalty on any payment received with a postmark after December 31st. Please be aware of the last pickup time at your post office if you are mailing on the last day of the year.
If you received your tax bill, then your mortgage company did not submit a request for it. Mortgage companies are required to send us a written request for all tax bills they intend to pay. You should call your mortgage company to find out what address they want you to forward your bill to.
Yes. There is senior citizen and disabled citizen property tax relief. Currently there is one program in place to assist senior citizens with real estate property taxes. The state of Missouri administers this program.
Learn more about the program by calling the Missouri Department of Revenue at 573-751-3505 or calling Mideast Area Agency on Aging at 1-800-243-6060. You may also find information on the Department of Revenue Property Tax Guide (PDF).
If the assessed value on your property is raised, the Jefferson County Assessor will send you a change of value notice in the spring. If you believe that your property has been assessed incorrectly, you should first contact the Jefferson County Assessor prior to June 15th to determine how they assessed your property. If you are still not satisfied with the assessment, then you can appeal to the Board of Equalization.
This board meets through the summer, and you should contact the Jefferson County Clerk by 5 pm on the third Monday in June to schedule an appointment before this group. There are specific forms provided by the County Clerk that must be completed to properly secure your appeal.
If you are still not satisfied you can then appeal to the Missouri State Tax Commission. This group operates out of Jefferson City, but they will schedule appointments here in Jefferson County to hear your appeal.
If you have an appeal pending with the State Tax Commission, you must still pay the full amount of your taxes before December 31st, and this payment should be accompanied with a letter stating that you are paying your taxes in protest and that you have an appeal pending with the State Tax Commission. When we receive your tax payment, the Collector will hold these funds in an escrow account until a ruling is made on your appeal. Filing online is the preferred method for filing a Complaint for Review of Assessment with the State Tax Commission. Follow the instructions provided on the Create New Appeal web page. You need to upload a copy of the decision letter from the Board of Equalization when filing a Complaint for Review of Assessment. If you do not have internet access please contact the Legal Section at (573)751-1715 and request a form to be mailed. The Complaint for Review of Assessment along with supporting documentation must be filed with the State Tax Commission on or before September 30 of the year of the assessment or within thirty (30) days of the decision of the Board of Equalization, whichever is later.
The payment of taxes in protest is a very specific legal remedy that is available to taxpayers that believe that they have been assessed incorrectly. Simply writing "protest" on your check when making your payment will not preserve your rights to appeal.
For more information you can refer to the Missouri Revised Statutes section 139.031.
Yes, we only deal with traffic hazards in the roadway.
No, this is the responsibility of the property owner. The County will maintain the culvert that runs under the county road.
Yes, under certain terms. Please refer to the Subdivision Street Maintenance Acceptance Policy (PDF) for more information.
Yes, under certain terms.
Absentee voting begins on the 6th Tuesday prior to the election.
Any voter who may be out of town, away at school or incapacitated due to illness and, therefore, will not be able to vote at the poll on election day, is invited to cast an absentee ballot.
View and download an Absentee Ballot Application Form (PDF).
Missouri is one of the few states that does not have "Early Voting." We do, however have absentee voting. What’s the difference? Many states allow voters to vote during a designated period of time prior to election, even though they would be able to vote on the exact day of the election. They may be able to vote at their normal polling place or at a satellite location established by the election authority. Missouri requires any voter who can not vote in person to provide a reason for voting absentee. Voters who have ’made up their minds’ will not be allowed to use this as a reason to cast an absentee ballot.
Remember, you will be signing an affidavit that could run contrary to state law if you do not meet one of the statutory reasons for voting absentee. Jefferson County residents who will not be able to go to their polling place on election day may vote absentee beginning six weeks prior to an election. Voters may request absentee ballots from the County Clerk/Election Authority in person or by fax. A parent or adult child of a registered voter may complete an absentee ballot application, in person at this office, on behalf of the voter who wishes to vote absentee.
Absentee ballot applications must be sent to this office by the deadline to be valid. This deadline is the 2nd Wednesday before the election.
Absentee voting takes place in the County Clerk’s office only, located at:729 Maple StreetSuite G17Hillsboro, MO 63050
The deadline to vote absentee in person is the Monday before the election on Tuesday. The deadline to request that an absentee ballot be sent to you is the 2nd Wednesday before the Tuesday election. (This allows the post office time to deliver the ballot to you and for you to send the ballot back to us.)
This is an absentee voting myth!
Under Missouri law, all ballots, including those cast at the poll and those cast by absentee are counted. It does not matter if the election is close or not, all absentee ballots are counted in every election. Voters sometimes believe that absentee ballots are only counted if they might determine the outcome.
Again, all ballots are counted in every election.
The Jefferson County Clerk’s office maintains an ’permanent list’ of absentee voters. If a voter wishes to be placed on the permanent absentee list, the voter should send us a written request that includes: full name, address, address where ballot is to be sent and signature and most importantly the reason the voter wishes to be placed on the list.
View and download an Permanent Absentee Request Application (PDF).
Please use a black/blue ink pen and "color-in" the circle in front of the name of the candidate for whom you want to vote. Be careful to stay inside the circle. Place the ballot into the return envelope that we have provided and send the absentee ballot back to us immediately. Any ballot that is received after 7 pm on election day shall not be counted according to Missouri law.
Do not take your absentee ballot to the poll on Election Day!
Please contact us immediately if you have not received your ballot. Missouri law requires that we process each request within 3 business days of receipt of the request. The deadline to request an absentee ballot is the 2nd Wednesday prior to the election.
Yes, Missouri law allows a parent to request an absentee ballot. Relatives within the second degree (spouse, parent, child, grandparent, brother, sister, grandchild, mother-in-law, father-in-law, daughter-in-law, or son-in-law) may complete an absentee ballot application, in-person, on behalf of the voter who wishes to vote absentee. Our office will then mail a ballot to the voter. No family member can ’pickup’ or ’leave’ our office with another person’s ballot.
View and download an Absentee Ballot Application (PDF).
Any voter who will be out of town, away at college or absent on election day must have his ballot envelope notarized. A notary will not watch a voter color-in the circles on his/her ballot. A notary will only ’witness’ the voter’s signature. Any envelope that is required to be notarized, but is not notarized, will not be opened and, in accordance with Missouri law, will not be counted. Any voter who has requested and received an absentee ballot for health reasons is not required to have the ballot envelope notarized.
Note: Regardless of the notary requirement, all ballot envelopes must contain the signature of the voter. Failure to include the signature on the envelope will result in the ballot inside the envelope not being counted.
A voter should never sign his/her name on the ballot itself or allow anyone else to write on the ballot.
A voter should contact our office immediately to make the necessary change. See the Secretary of State website for the form a voter should use if he moves, marries or changes his name.
No, you are not considered a registered voter in Jefferson County, Missouri if you have moved here but not yet completed a voter registration application. If a voter has moved from one county to another county, the voter is required by Missouri law to complete a new voter registration form and send it to the new county.
The new information line for Jefferson County Government is 636-797-5555.
For all questions regarding traffic tickets, jury duty, divorces, or child support please contact the Circuit Clerk’s Office at 636-797-5443.
The County Clerk is the administrative office to the County Council. Duties include:
The County Clerk is also the Director of Elections
The Circuit Clerk is the administrative officer to the 23rd Judicial Circuit Court, located in the Jefferson County Courthouse. The Circuit Clerk is responsible for all jury duty, child support issues and state issued traffic tickets (State Trooper). All questions regarding court or legal issues should be directed to the Office of the Circuit Clerk.
County-issued traffic tickets are issued by a Sheriff’s Deputy and are to be paid at the Municipal Court, located in the Justice Center on the 3rd Floor in Hillsboro, Missouri. The telephone number is 636-797-6265.
State-issued traffic tickets are issued by the Missouri Highway Patrol are to be paid in the Jefferson County Courthouse located at 300 Main Street in Hillsboro. The telephone number is 636-797-5443.
Personal property and real estate taxes are to be paid at the office of the Collector of Revenue, located at the Administration Center:729 Maple StreetSuite G36Hillsboro, MO 63050
The telephone number is 636-797-5406.
According to the Home Rule Charter of Jefferson County, the County Council meets no fewer than two times a month. The County Council meets the first Monday and the third Wednesday of the month at 6 pm, unless otherwise posted. The County Council meets:Administration Center729 Maple StreetAssembly RoomHillsboro, MO 63050
The County Clerk is the custodian of records for the County Council. The Council has its own staff that keeps the minutes of its meetings. The County Executive may be contacted by calling the Administration Center at 636-797-5400. The County Council may be reached at 636-797-5517.
The County Clerk is the official custodian of all County records, including those of the County Council. All Council minutes are posted on this website. All records are available for review by the public. Copies will be made available upon request for 10 cents per page.
The Board of Equalization consists of 3 members who are appointed to hear appeals regarding the real estate and personal property assessments of taxpayers.
The Board meets, as scheduled, to hear appeals from the first Monday in July to the fourth Saturday in August of every year. The Board meets in the Assembly Room located in the Administration Building at:729 Maple StreetHillsboro, MO 63050
Taxpayers are encouraged to contact the Department of the County Assessor at 636-797-5466 for real estate and 636-797-5343 for personal property. If the taxpayer is unable to reach an agreement with Assessor’s office, and wishes to appear before the Board of Equalization, the taxpayer should contact the County Clerk’s office to obtain the necessary appeal forms. Five copies of the forms are required to be returned to the County Clerk’s office by the taxpayer.
Contact our office at 636-797-5039.
The form is the same, however if the taxpayer wishes to appeal both real estate and personal property taxes, the taxpayer must fill out a separate form for each appeal.
All appeals are due on or before the 3rd Monday in June. However, the Board of Equalization has extended this deadline to the second Monday in July. All appeals must be postmarked by 5 pm on that day to comply with Revised Statutes of Missouri Section 137.385.
Once all of the appeal forms have been received, the County Clerk’s office will notify the taxpayer by letter as to the date and time of the appeal.
Dates and times are not negotiable.
Typically, most appeal hearings last anywhere from 10 to 20 minutes. Taxpayers will be given ample time to present their case. The Board may, or may not, ask questions of the taxpayer.
The taxpayer will be notified of the Board’s decision, via certified mail, within 5 business days following the hearing.
Any taxpayer who disagrees with the decision of the Board of Equalization may appeal directly to the Missouri State Tax Commission. Information on how to appeal, as well as the website address, will be included in the decision letter.
Missouri State Tax CommissionP.O. Box 146Jefferson City, MO 65102Phone: 573-751-1715
Updated October 2015: Taxpayers are welcome to attend any Board meeting. Any correspondence from the taxpayer to the Board must be done through the Secretary of the Board of Equalization. It is inappropriate for any taxpayer to contact the members of the Board outside of an official Board meeting.
On election night we will be posting the results on our website as quickly as the votes from a precinct are delivered to our office by the election judges. Typically, the first results are announced between 8-8:30 pm and the final results are, often times, announced before 10:30 pm. The results can be found on the Election Results page.
As a voter inserts his ballot into the optical scanner (ballot box) located at the polling location, the scanner ’tabulates’ the vote for each candidate. This information is retained on a media stick within the optical scanner.
Upon the close of the polls, the memory stick from each scanner and all ballots are sealed and promptly returned to the County Clerk’s office. The data from the memory stick is downloaded onto our election software. The election summary is then uploaded onto a flash drive and then downloaded on our website. Beginning on the Thursday after the election, the paper ballots are hand counted by the ’Verification Board’ and compared to the results reported on election night. After the board completes its work, all election results are then considered ’Official’.
Note: No ballots are counted in the County Clerk’s office on election night. Additionally, no staff member of the County Clerk’s office has any statutory role in the ’counting’ of ballots. This duty is performed by Election Judges appointed by the two political parties per Missouri law. As always, citizens are welcome to observe the return of election materials on election night.
Any person who seeks to obtain a liquor license for a location in an incorporated area of Jefferson County must first contact the municipality. Any person who seeks to obtain a liquor license for a location in the unincorporated area of Jefferson County may apply directly to the Missouri Department of Public Safety - Division of Liquor Control by calling 314-416-6280.
Yes, any business or organization that obtains a state liquor license of any kind (i.e. picnic, caterer) is required to apply and acquire a County liquor license from the County Clerk’s office.
The day a business or organization applies for a County liquor license, they will receive a paid receipt that will be valid for 30 days from the date written on the receipt by the County Clerk’s office. The original license will be mailed within 7 to 10 business days. Please contact our office if you do not receive your license within this time frame.
A business or organization located in an incorporated city/municipality must first obtain their state and city liquor license. Those located in the unincorporated areas of Jefferson County must only obtain a state liquor license before applying for a County liquor license. Then, bring the original license(s) to the County Clerk’s office to apply for a license that is valid for 30 days.
The Jefferson County Council adopted a new ordinance that requires any applicant for a county liquor license to be current on his taxes. Proof of taxes paid or no taxes owed will be required to obtain the liquor license.
Jefferson County charges $3 more than the fee charged by the state for a liquor license. If the state charged you $400, then the total amount charged by Jefferson County will be $403.
Contact the State of Missouri, Department of Revenue at 314-416-6280 for an answer to this question.
Liquor licenses in Missouri are valid from July 1 of the current year to June 30 of the next year.
No, liquor licenses are pro-rated based when the State of Missouri issued the license and the expiration date of the license.
No, renewals are mailed at the beginning of April each year and may be signed and returned to the County Clerk’s office with the amount owed. Please call 636-797-5039, if you have any questions.
See the Notaries page for information regarding how to become a Notary Public.
All applications are processed by the Missouri Secretary of State’s office in Jefferson City.
Two weeks is normally required for the application to be processed and the confirmation letter mailed to the applicant. The commission is sent to the County Clerk’s Office in Hillsboro.
Please contact the County Clerk’s office to verify receipt of the commission. A Notary Public must be sworn in at the County Clerk’s office to receive the commission.
A Notary Public must be sworn in the county of the applicant’s residence.
Notaries are not renewable. All notaries must re-apply every 4 years.
The fee is $25 made payable to the State Director of Revenue. A notary surety bond may be acquired through any insurance company and the cost is approximately $50 for the 4-year bond. The journal and notary seal may be acquired through any office supply store at a cost of approximately $150. The County Clerk’s office fee, for recording the notary commission and administering the oath of office, is $3.
Once an application has been processed and the commission issued by the Secretary of State’s office, the applicant has 90 days to appear and qualify. A failure to appear by the applicant results in the return of the notary commission to the Secretary of State’s office. (486.240 Revised Statutes of Missouri)
No, all documents must be signed in the County Clerk’s office in front of a deputy clerk.
Please check that the date of commission and the county of residence is correct.
The date of commission should be indicated on the bond. If the space on the bond is ’blank’, where the beginning date of the commission should be, please fill in the proper beginning date. If the county of residence is blank, leave it ’blank’ and the Deputy Clerk in the County Clerk’s office will fill-in the blank space. If either is incorrect, the applicant will need to contact the insurance company to obtain a ’rider’ for the corrections to the Notary Surety Bond.
The date of commission is the day that the Secretary of State’s Office processes the application.
The bond will be sent to the applicant, not the Department of the County Clerk.
729 Maple StreetHillsboro, MO 63050
A notary may start his/her official duties after being sworn-in and receiving their notary seal.
Typically, this license is used by organizations that is holding an event at a temporary ’stand’ outdoors. The state of Missouri will issue a picnic license that is valid for 7 days. The organization is also required to obtain a County picnic license.
If the State of Missouri requires a liquor license, Jefferson County requires it as well.
A picnic license from the State is $25 for a temporary stand. A picnic license issued from Jefferson County is $25 per temporary stand, plus a $3 County Revenue Fee.
Missouri is one of the few states that does not require a voter to state his political party affiliation on his registration. Many voter registration groups use a generic form that is valid in all states. This form may include a box or an area for a voter to indicate his political party. Missouri registrants need not write or place a check mark in this area.
Missouri has an August statewide primary election in each even-numbered year. The primary is an election contest between members of the same political party. For example, several candidates of the same political party may file for the position of County Treasurer. The August election will determine which candidate will face the candidate for that same position from the opposing political party in the November general election.
Our election judges will ask you which political party’s ballot you would like to vote. All candidates of one political party will appear on your ballot. No record of your political party selection is kept by the County Clerk or the state of Missouri.
No, in August, a voter must choose a political party or vote a ballot that contains only non-partisan issues. A voter’s ballot will only contain the candidates of the same political party the voter has chosen. In November, candidates of all parties will appear on a voter’s ballot. A voter is free to select a candidate from either party at the November General Election.
Voters are no longer allowed to vote for all candidates of one political party by "coloring-in" one single circle at the top of the ballot. In order to vote for all candidates of one political party in November, a voter must "color-in" the circle in front of the name of each candidate of the voter’s choice.
Angela Alter-Wren1802 Gravois RoadHigh Ridge, MO 63049Phone: 636-795-1727
Linda Schilly313 JeffersonCrystal City, MO 63019Phone: 636-937-2083
A voter must vote at the poll to which he has been assigned. If a voter has moved within Jefferson County, he may change his address at any time, including the day of the election. However, if a voter has moved within Jefferson County and has not updated his voting information before the day of the election, then the voter may be instructed to travel to the new poll location in order to cast a ballot. Missouri law requires a voter to vote at a poll based on their current address, not the old address.
If you are new to Jefferson County, Missouri, you must have registered to vote in Jefferson County before the 4th Wednesday before the election. If you have failed to do so you may or may not be entitled to a provisional ballot. (If a voter moves from one Missouri county to another Missouri county they MUST re-register to vote in the new county.)
The answer depends on you. If we have your correct/current address and name on file with our office, then the wait time will be minimal. If you have failed to keep this information current with us then you will be directed to the Help Desk where the election office will be contacted in order to resolve the problem. Voters who are sent to the Help Desk should expect to wait.
Expected wait times (these are our customer service goals):
The polls throughout Missouri open promptly at 6 am and close precisely at 7 pm. All voters standing in line at 7 pm will be allowed to cast a ballot.
Unfortunately no, our office is not equipped to provide transportation for voters. We suggest you contact one of the local political parties or candidates.
Yes. View which forms of voter identification (PDF) are accepted.
The deadline to register to vote is the 4th Wednesday preceding any election. If you are unsure of your registration status, please feel free to contact us at 636-797-5486, or check online.
See our Registration Sites page to find voter registration locations.
N! According to Missouri law, a voter must cast his ballot from his current address at his new polling location in Jefferson County. If a voter misses the deadline to register, he shall not be allowed to vote at either his old polling location in his former county or at his new polling location in Jefferson County.
The voter may be allowed to cast a provisional ballot. Register to vote, or to find out if you’re registered in Jefferson County, Missouri. Don’t delay, register today!
Yes, a voter who has moved after the deadline may cast a ballot. However, the voter must come to the County Clerk’s office to do so. The type of ballot the voter will be voting on is only located in the Clerk’s office. Please do not go to the polls as the election judges will contact the Clerk’s office and ultimately send the voter to the Clerk’s office in Hillsboro, Missouri on election day.
All registrations must be processed in 7 days. All prospective registrants should have received confirmation from us regarding their application. Confirmation will come in the form of a letter or a post card. If a voter does not receive confirmation that he is registered to vote from this office, contact us immediately at 636-797-5486 or check online.
Yes, a voter may vote without presenting their Voter Identification Card. This card is just one of many acceptable forms of identification that a voter may present to the election judge. If a card is lost, contact us for a new replacement card at 636-797-5486.
A voter should update this information as soon as possible. Please see the Change of Address / Name page and complete a new voter registration application
Utilizing this method allows all Jefferson county voters the opportunity to vote in the comfort of their home without traveling to a voting location. Missouri requires a reason to vote absentee and voters with disabilities qualify under state law.
See the Request for Absentee Ballot page for full information.
All locations must be made accessible for all voters, regardless of ability. Under Missouri and federal law, all voters must be given the same opportunity for access and participation.
The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) and the Help America Vote Act (HAVA) protects people with disabilities from receiving unequal treatment within state and local government services, programs and activities.
Every voting location is required to have a voting machine that is Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant. Please let the poll workers know if you have questions or need assistance utilizing the machines.
Instructions for marking and casting your ballot are posted at each voting location. Do not hesitate to ask a poll worker for instructions or assistance.
If you need assistance, Missouri law allows you to ask for help from anyone, including a poll worker, friend, neighbor or family member.
If you are unable to sign your name, make an ’X’ if possible on the signature line.
If you are unable to enter the voting location, you may vote curbside. Poll workers will bring all the necessary paperwork and the ballot to your vehicle. You may sit in your car and vote. The ballot will be placed in a secrecy folder and the placed into the ballot box by the poll workers.
Further notice is given that, where a regular polling place has limited accessibility, voters may be provided an alternate means of casting his ballot that include:
The Missouri Secretary of State’s Office provides a toll free number for persons with hearing impairments who have access to a Telecommunications Device for the Deaf (TDD). TDD users may call 800-669-8683 to obtain election information.
In order to vote, an individual must make sure that they are in fact a registered voter. The voter must then go to the assigned polling location. The County Clerk’s office will send out a courtesy reminder card with the polling location and the date of the election immediately preceding any election.
Upon arrival at the proper polling location, an election judge will ask the voter to present a form of identification as required per Missouri law. Chapter 115.427 requires only one of the following:
If you do not possess any of these forms of identification, you may still cast a ballot if two supervising election judges, one from each major political party, attest they know you. Once a voter has shown the proper form of identification, the voter will be asked to verify that the address we have on file is correct/current in the precinct roster. The voter will indicate that the information is correct by signing his/her name.
In Jefferson County, Missouri, there are two ways a voter may cast his ballot at the polling location:
A voter may receive assistance from any person he chooses. A voter may bring another person with him to read or mark the ballot. A voter who does not bring a person to assist him is entitled to receive help from our election judges. The judges have been instructed to help a voter in the following manner:
All voters have the opportunity to vote a correct ballot. If a mistake is made by the voter at the poll, the voter should notify the election judges immediately. The judge will take the original ballot and spoil the ballot. The judge will then hand the voter a new ballot. In Missouri. voters have a ’Second Chance Voting’ opportunity.
Note: If the voter has already placed the ballot into the black ballot box and then approaches the election judges about a possible error on his ballot or change of mind, the judges are not allowed to retrieve the ballot from the box per Missouri law. Therefore, all voters are encouraged to inspect their ballot carefully before casting the ballot.
If a voter has received an absentee ballot and makes a mistake, the voter should contact our office immediately. 636-797-5486
See the Jefferson County, State, and Federal Officials page for a listing of your elected officials.
Elections are held:
Other dates are as ordered by a circuit court or set forth in Missouri State Statutes.
April is the General Municipal Election that contains issues related to incorporated cities, fire districts, school boards, college boards, water districts, ambulance boards, special road districts, Jefferson County Health Department, Jefferson County 911 and most local tax issues.
August is the state primary when we select the nominees of each political party to be represented in the November election. On the ballot will be races such as U.S. Senator, U.S. Representative, Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Secretary of State, Attorney General, State Treasurer, State Senate, State Representative, Circuit and Associate Judge and all County offices. Voters must select a party ballot in this election. A voter may not vote for a candidate of one party and a candidate of another party. A voter will receive a ballot that contains the candidates of only one political party.
November is the General Election. Candidates of all parties will appear on a voter’s ballot. Voters may vote for whom ever they choose. Voters do not have to declare a political party to the election judges.
Where you file depends on what political office you wish to be a candidate for. See the Where Do I File page for complete information.
For a list of candidates who will appear on the ballot this election, see the Candidates Filing (PDF) page. The list is in the order in which the candidates will appear on the ballot. Candidates who will not appear on the ballot in this election are not included.
You may also contact our office to obtain these names by calling 636-797-5486.
View a listing and overview of political signs ordinances within Jefferson County (PDF).
A subpoena is an official court order requiring you to appear at the time and place to provide testimony. It continues to bind you to appear at all subsequent settings until the case reaches the final disposition. You should have your subpoena with you when you appear. Failure to appear constitutes contempt of court.
If you should move or change your phone number, please contact the Prosecuting Attorney’s Office immediately. Your subpoena may give a specific time or it may direct you to call before you come to court. Remember, we are here to help you, so be certain to let us know of any problems you may encounter. Please dress appropriately for court appearances and refrain from consuming alcohol before coming to court.
Local law enforcement officers investigate a case and, if they feel there is sufficient evidence, the application for a warrant is sent to the Prosecuting Attorney’s Office. If after reviewing the facts, the prosecutor feels that a person should be charged with a crime, a complaint, and an arrest warrant are prepared and the judicial cycle begins. The complaint is not a formal charge and in felony cases, the defendant is entitled to a preliminary hearing before he/she is formally charged and becomes subject to trial. Since we do not currently have a grand jury in Jefferson County, the next step in which you may be involved in is the preliminary hearing.
A preliminary hearing is held in an Associate Circuit Court. The defendant, his/her attorney, and any pertinent witnesses will be present along with an assistant prosecuting attorney. A hearing will be held, unless waived (allowed to continue to the next step without requiring a hearing) by the defendant, and if sufficient evidence is presented the case proceeds to the Circuit Court for further legal proceedings. This does not mean the defendant is legally guilty. It means that they are now formally charged.
If the judge decides probable cause has not been established, the court dismisses the case. This means that all legal action has come to an end and the defendant is released. This may also occur if witnesses, such as you, fail to appear to testify in criminal cases. In such cases, the Prosecuting Attorney will decide whether to re-file the case and continue to prosecute.
Most cases are resolved without the necessity of a trial. Often there is no real question of guilt and the only question to be resolved is the amount and degree of punishment to be given. Because both the state and the defense usually have a good idea of what punishment would likely result if the case were tried, the question may be fairly resolved by a plea agreement.
A plea agreement is an agreement in which both the state and the defense agree on a suitable punishment. If the judge agrees at sentencing, the case is settled in the most efficient manner. Should the judge believe the sentence is inappropriate, however, he/she may assess a lesser punishment than the plea agreement suggested or reject the plea agreement and proceed as if an agreement had never been reached. This often means the case must go to trial.
Your input is certainly welcome, but this office will make the final decision on whether a plea agreement is appropriate in a specific case. We will consider the severity of the crime, the wishes of the victim, the likelihood of success at trial, and the probable punishment that would be assessed without a plea agreement.
The defense, and in rare occasions the state, may require the deposition of certain witnesses. A deposition is the recorded testimony of a witness, given under oath in the presence of the defense attorney, an assistant prosecuting attorney, and often the defendant. The purpose of taking a deposition is to determine and preserve the testimony of a witness. Although it may be used in court, it cannot be used as a substitute for your personal appearance.
In a trial, the attorney from the Prosecuting Attorney’s Office presents the case for the state and has the burden of proving "beyond a reasonable doubt" that the defendant did commit the alleged crime. The defendant may present evidence, although he/she has no obligation to do so. Furthermore, the defendant may not be compelled to testify. He/she will, however, be present throughout the proceeding. The trial may be either before a judge or before a jury.
The judge presiding over the case sentences a defendant who has been found guilty or has plead guilty. Using state guidelines, (sentences are expressed in terms of minimums, maximums, and other options) the judge sentences the defendant in a manner appropriate to the crime and other circumstances related to the case. The defendant may be sentenced to jail, placed on probation, ordered to make restitution, or ordered to pay court costs and/or a fine.
Before making his decision, however, the judge will normally have the opportunity to review a Sentencing Assessment Report, which is an evaluation of the defendant prepared for the sentencing judge by the State Board of Probation and Parole. It contains a recommendation as to probation or incarceration and is an important factor in the judge’s decision.
You may be contacted by the Board for information in preparing the report. You may also have a chance to present either a written or oral victim impact statement at sentencing. The statement can relate only to the facts of the case and any personal injuries or financial loss incurred by the victim. A member of the immediate family of the victim may appear personally or by an attorney of their choosing to make a statement, if the victim is otherwise unable, for any reason, to appear as a result of the offense committed by the defendant.
A crime committed against any person is a crime committed against the state. Our community and each of us as individuals deserve protection against criminal wrongdoers. For this reason, the court can compel the testimony of a victim or witness to a crime.
A great deal of work and money will be wasted if a victim or witness does not testify. The loss of a case, simply because a victim or witness drops out, is a tragedy. Should you have any reluctance about testifying in a case, please discuss your concern with the victim/witness coordinator or the assistant prosecutor handling the case. They will try to help with any problems, doubts, or questions you may have.
You may be contacted by the defense attorney or a private investigator hired by the defense attorney. You should feel free to speak with persons connected with the defendant, but you have the right to refuse to do so if you desire. If you do decide to speak to the defense attorney or a representative of that office, you may request that an attorney from this office be present while you are being questioned, and postpone any further communication with the defense until such arrangements can be made. In any event, we would appreciate your notifying us of any conversations you have with the defendant or his attorneys or representatives
Since a threat to a witness or a victim may be itself a crime, it is unlikely anyone would make such a contact. If anyone has threatened you in connection with the case in which you are involved, either in or out of court, you should report the threat to your local Police Department or Sheriff’s Office and also inform the Prosecuting Attorney’s Office.
Unfortunately, crowded court dockets and other delays may cause cases to drag on for what may seem an unreasonable length of time. Please realize that we are continuing to work on your case even when you aren’t hearing from us and that we will do whatever we can to move your case efficiently through the system. Your patience, therefore, is greatly appreciated.
The felony case flow chart will help you better understand the criminal justice process. Possible outcomes appear in underlined, italicized type. In addition to the steps listed, a case periodically appears on an Adjourn Docket for an Announcement setting. Adjourn/Announcement settings help keep track of cases not set for a hearing, trial, etc. While you may attend any time open court is in session, you are not required to attend a proceeding unless you have been subpoenaed to appear.
If you are subpoenaed or called by the Prosecuting Attorney’s Office, please arrive 30 minutes before the time scheduled for the case. Please report to the Prosecuting Attorney’s Office as soon as you arrive. If you have trouble finding the Jefferson County Courthouse or are unavoidably delayed, call us at 636-797-5321.
You should park on the large lot behind the Courthouse and come into the building through the large double doors nearest the parking lot. Once inside, you will find the Prosecutor’s Office immediately to your right.
Your insurance company may provide coverage for your personal injury or property loss due to a crime. If your report of a crime results in the offender being placed on probation, the court may order the offender to make restitution to pay for the cost of your injuries, damages, or loss. However, restitution cannot be guaranteed and may not be possible under some circumstances. The Crime Victims’ Compensation Fund may cover certain out of pocket losses as a result of personal injury or death. You may also consider pursuing a civil suit to recover damages.
You may also be eligible for reimbursement of certain expenses under the Victim’s Compensation Act. To be considered, you must file a claim within one year of the crime that caused the injury. The Division of Worker’s Compensation will investigate and make a determination as to whether you are eligible for funds. This fund is supported by fines paid by those found guilty of crimes.
Property losses are not covered! Contact the Prosecutor’s Office or call 800-347-6881 in Jefferson City for additional information.
Victims and survivors of certain violent crimes may be referred for special help, including counseling, through a joint project with the Community Mental Health Center (COMTREA)by calling 636-931-2700.
Victims of other crimes who desire notification of court dates need only to furnish a written request to the Victim Services Unit in the Prosecutor’s Office. This project is primarily funded with the Victim of Crime Act Funds, administered by the Missouri Department of Public Safety, Office of the Director. To find out more about any of these services or for information or referrals for family violence, call the Victim Services Unit at 636-797-5097.
Through this project, a Victim Advocate in the Prosecutor’s Office maintains regular contact with victims of violent crimes, and those who request service, ensuring that they are aware of their rights and the progress of their cases going through the criminal justice system. Victims are offered a referral to the Crime Victim Therapist for screening and professional counseling. Additional referrals and other services are provided as deemed appropriate. Through these services, the project seeks to prevent re-victimization, reduce the effects of trauma, and fill a gap in services while coordinating with existing services within the community.
The County will trim back or cut down trees on the right-of-way or easement on a County-maintained road (PDF) that pose a threat to safe driving conditions. You can request the County to trim or cut down trees by completing an On-line Service Request. The request will be routed to the District Highway Supervisor to schedule the work.
The Highway Superintendent will give the District Supervisors a target mileage for their districts to assess the condition of their roads.
The District Supervisors will report back on the roads in their areas in most need of surface work.
The Highway Superintendent will finalize the list of roads and give the District Supervisors the final list.
The District Supervisors will schedule all related work – brush cutting, pipe replacements, pavement work (blade patching or paving), etc.
The Supervisor in charge of the chip sealing operation will assemble the team and plan the routing.
No sooner than three days after the chip seal is placed, the sweeping of the loose chips will take place.
Any roads that were striped will be striped by the County’s contractor.
Yes, on a County-maintained road (PDF). You can request the County to do repairs by completing an On-line Service Request.
Chip seals enhance safety by providing good skid resistance. Chip seals provide an effective moisture barrier for the underlying pavement against water intrusion by sealing cracks in the pavement to prevent deterioration of the asphalt surface from the effects of aging and oxidation due to water and sun.
A chip seal is a two-step process which includes first an application of asphalt emulsion and then a layer of crushed rock to an existing asphalt pavement surface. A chip seal gets its name from the “chips” or small crushed rock placed on the surface.
The county has a 30 foot prescriptive easement to maintain the roads, (15 ft. from center-line on each side) In some areas we can have more if it was an old state road, a plat dedication, or if we purchased the Right-of-Way during one of our road projects. It is best to contact the Department of Public Works if you are not sure.
The County will clean out driveway culverts on a case by case basis that have a significant impact on the roadway drainage system. You can complete an On-line Service Request.
Please note that after the District Highway Supervisor reviews the location on a case by case basis, it may be referred to the property owner. Please note that it is against County codes to place yard waste in the ditches that obstruct the flow of the ditches and culverts. The Stormwater Division may investigate if this is expected to be the case.
The County will not put up signs on private roads, we place signage on a County-maintained road (PDF).
The County does not remove snow on private roads, we only do removal on a County-maintained road (PDF)
Please refer to the link County-maintained road (PDF) for a current list of roads maintained by the Highway Division.
Yes, we only deal with dead animals that pose traffic hazards on a County-maintained road (PDF) or within the County right-of-way or easement. You can request pick up by completing an On-line Service Request.
The County will not put up signs on private roads, we place signage on a County-maintained road (PDF)
No, the Department of Public Works has no involvement in the Water Districts. You can contact the Water Districts directly.
Please refer to the link a County-maintained road (PDF) for a current list of roads maintained by the Department of Public Works.
It is against the law to discharge pollutants into (1) the storm drainage system (2) surface water and (3) groundwater.
Streams serve as a natural habitat and a source of food to many animals, fish, and aquatic life. Pollution will kill a stream and everything that uses it for survival. A stream filled with these items will suffer:
These items contaminate water, causing death or illness to aquatic life, and fish by interrupting their reproductive cycle. The stream or waterway begins to fill up. The riparian corridor is destroyed. When that happens, the stream dies.
Pollutants also contaminate drinking water supplies. Antifreeze, detergents, and oils actually change the chemical makeup of water causing destruction not only to fish but also to the surrounding habitat for plants and animals. The economic loss is immeasurable.
The choices we make around our home will have an impact on our local streams. Some things you can do are:
Groundwater is rainwater that has had a chance to be absorbed into the ground where it "percolates" through the ground layers. This natural cleansing process removes most of the pollutants before they enter streams. Porous soil layers, detention areas, and forested areas help absorb rainwater and greatly eliminates a lot of damaging stormwater runoff. When groundwater has a chance to percolate through the ground layers and eventually draining into the streams as a natural process, this provides a steady flow of "clean" water to streams.
Runoff is rainwater that runs over the landscape picking up any pollutants that may be on the ground surface and carries these pollutants directly into the nearest stream. Runoff occurs when (1) there is an increase in impervious cover (rooftops, driveways, parking lots, etc.), (2) when soil is compacted by heavy construction equipment, or (3) when land is cleared by removing plants and trees that would normally help absorb rainwater. When rainwater cannot be absorbed naturally into the ground layers, rainwater runoff enters the streams too quickly causing erosion and flooding conditions.
Sanitary sewer drains are designed to drain wastewater and sewage from inside our homes. The sanitary sewer drains lead to the sanitary sewer system and ends up at a wastewater treatment plant. Unlike stormwater runoff from yards, streets, parking lots, etc, wastewater in this system is treated before being discharged into a natural water body.
Surface water runoff also called stormwater runoff flows across the top of yards, parking lots, streets, etc. In suburban areas, stormwater runoff enters a storm drain that takes water directly to the nearest water body. Water in a storm drain is untreated so it contains pollutants picked up by stormwater runoff and runs directly to the nearest creek or lake.
You can call the County Stormwater Division at 636-797-6228 or your local city government offices. Educational programs are available as well as publications that address pollution control practices.
Yes. Jefferson County has a Recycling Coordinator in the Solid Waste Division. For information on recycling centers call 636-797-5043. You can also visit the County Recycling website.
Rainwater or snow melt encounters materials on the ground including loose sediment, oil and grease, heavy metals, toxic household cleaners, organic debris, excessive nutrients, bacteria and viruses and litter. Often the chemicals, oils and trash are carried in in the runoff and discharged to streams rivers and lakes. To find out more about stormwater visit our Educational Resources page.
Sewer systems and stormwater drains are two different things. The water that goes down your house drain flows to a wastewater treatment plant where it is treated and filtered, then released to a receiving stream. But water that flows down driveways and streets into a gutter or ditch is not treated and flows directly to a lake, river or stream. The pollutants in the stormwater, are discharged to the lake, river or stream too.
An illicit discharge is the illegal dumping of any pollutant into the storm drain system. Pollutant examples include, but are not limited to, pesticides, fertilizers, weed killers, detergents, oils and grease, litter and illegal activities such as dumping materials into storm drains or connecting waste water pipes into storm drains.
Bus stop sign requests must be made through the school district. Please contact your school’s transportation department, the school district will contact Department of Public Works to request the signage.
Requests for new stop sign locations must be made through the County Council member in your district.
The County does not install “No Littering” signs.
Requests to change speed limits on County maintained roads must be made through the County Council member in your district.
The County generally does not install “No Parking” signs on County maintained roads as this is covered under a blanket ordinance.
Please refer to the section titled “Private Street Signing Program”.
The Recorder of Deeds Office is a depository for documents having to do with land transfer and ownership, including ownership deeds, Deeds of Trust (mortgages) and other encumbrances. The Recorder of Deeds also issues marriage licenses. The Recorder of Deeds retains Service Personnel records (DD214) that have been brought in person by Service Personnel. All functions, services and fees of the Recorder of Deeds office is governed by Missouri State Statues.
There are 3 ways to obtain a copy:1. Stop by in person. Anyone can pick it up. The cost would be $9 per copy.2. Send a written request to Recorder of Deeds, 729 Maple Street, Hillsboro MO 63050. Include a check for $9 per copy and a self-addressed stamped return envelope. Include the names of the bride and groom as they would have been on the application and the approximate date of marriage. Also include a daytime phone number in case the clerk has any questions. 3. Order over the phone with a credit card by calling 636-797-5414. The cost is still $9 per copy but a postage fee of $.55 and a convenience fee of $1 will be added.
Due to Covid, hours for marriage license application are 9 AM to 4:00 PM, Monday through Friday, BY APPOINTMENT ONLY. To avoid delays, be sure you and your fiance come together, bring valid government issued photo IDs (usually a driver’s license) and $51 exact cash or credit card only (credit card convenience fee of $2 added by the processing company). We will ask for social security numbers, but do not need to see the cards. If either party has been married before, we need the exact date the marriage ended. We do not need to see any paperwork. You will receive the license the same day you apply. It must be used within 30 days or you will have to reapply (additional fee applies).
A Warranty Deed is an instrument by which the buyer obtains title to the piece of property being sold. The seller warrants that he has not encumbered the title and guarantees that his predecessors have not encumbered the title.
A Quit Claim Deed is an instrument by which Current Owners can add an additional owner, remove an owner, change a name or correct inaccurate information.
A Beneficiary Deed (or Time of Death Deed) shows the intent of the Current Owner at the time of their death.
A Deed of Trust, also know as a mortgage, is a lien on property to ensure payment of the money due to a lender. It is a separate document recorded in the land records. Every time a loan is made (or refinanced), a new document is recorded. Once a Deed of Trust is paid off (or refinanced), the lender is required to record a Deed of Release referencing the specific document number of the Deed of Trust being shown as paid.
All documents are considered legal in nature. The Recorder’s Office is not licensed to practice law. Therefore, the Recorder of Deeds office cannot prepare documents for you.
It is the policy of the Jefferson County Recorder of Deeds office to not notarize the same documents we are recording.
The primary evidence of ownership of land is not so much as to the deed itself as to the recording of the deed. Once recorded, the deed is returned to the new owner who usually deposits it in a safe place with his or her important papers. However, if misplaced or lost, a copy may be obtained from the Recorder’s Office and certified with the Recorder’s signature and official stamp or seal. This will suffice for the original deed. There are a number of ways to obtain a copy:
1). Stop by in person. Copy costs are determined by the number of pages in the document ($2 for the first page plus $1 for each additional page). An additional charge of $1 to certify the document (all fees are set by Missouri State Statute). 2). Call 636-797-5414 with your credit/debit card. Copy costs are the same as in Option 1 but there is also a convenience fee of $1 (charged by the credit card processing company) and postage fees apply.
As providing blank forms can be construed as providing legal advice, the Recorder’s Office no longer provides any type of skeleton or generic forms. Some types of documents can be obtained online but the formatting must comply with Missouri State Statutes.
There is a “pay per search” system at www.landrecords.net. The cost is $6.95 per search plus $1 per page for copies. This site is only recommended if you do minimal searches.
The other online search options are subscription based. Laredo is a software program you can install on your computer. A signed User Agreement provided by the Recorder is required prior to access. There are multiple plans available. All copies are included. This database covers April, 1985 and continues through the present. To search records March, 1985 back to 1817, there is a hosted site, COTT Systems, http://missouri-recorderofdeeds-records.com/. It is also subscription based.
If you would like to subscribe to Laredo, simply fill out the attached and return it by fax or email to firstname.lastname@example.org. To subscribe to Cott, follow the instruction on the homepage of that site. /DocumentCenter/View/9932
The Recorder of Deeds never sends reports of any kind to any Credit Bureau or credit reporting agency. However, there are legitimate companies that research our records to provide public record information to other entities.
A document goes through a number of steps before the document is returned to the patron.
Yes, you can, but the Recorder always recommends the retention of an attorney or Title Company for this important process. The Recorders Office is a recording agency and is prohibited by state law from making out deeds or answering those questions which pertain to legal matters.
There is a computerized index of Grantor and Grantee information that is available in the Recorder’s vault for public use. Grantor means the seller and Grantee means the buyer. In order to locate a copy of your deed, you would search for your name as the Grantee since you are the one that last bought the property.
Once you ascertain the year that you purchased the property, you will utilize the computer index to look up your deed. Within these indexes, you will find your full name arranged alphabetically, which will refer you to a book and page number.
As long as you have a Letter of Good Standing from an organization licensed in the State of Missouri, you are good to go. We do not need to see any credentials from you. The couple will come in and get their license. They will hand it to you. Never perform a marriage ceremony for anyone that does not already have the license in hand or if the issue date is more than 30 days.
Once the marriage has been performed, it will be your responsibility to complete the bottom portion of the license and file it with the issuing Recorder’s office within 15 days of the ceremony. This office always provides a return envelope, but the couple will not always pass it on to you. If that is the case, our mailing address is Recorder of Deeds, 729 Maple Street, Hillsboro MO 63050.
No, property must be recorded in the county in which it is located. It is the submitter’s responsibility to be sure documents are presented to the proper county.
The State Legislature sets the fees that we are allowed to charge for recording documents. The fees charged go, in part, to the State Land Survey Office to update the state surveys and to keep vital land records and surveys. The State Land Survey Office also police the registered surveyors. /DocumentCenter/View/3164