Licenses and Applications

Please Note:  Licenses can not be issued if there are delinquent Personal Property & Real Estate Taxes due.  

 If you are a resident outside of Jefferson County an Affidavit will need to be completed and notarized stating that all taxes are paid.  See the  Jefferson County, MO ordinance concerning taxation requirements prior to Issuance of Permits/Licenses .


Merchants License

A County Merchants License is required if you are selling a product and collecting Missouri State Sales Tax (Statute 150.010).  Please complete the below application and return by mail or in person at the Jefferson County Administration Building.  If your business is "service only" a Merchants License is not required.  

 Merchant's License Application 

  • Merchants Fee - $25.00                                               


Auctioneer License

To obtain an Auctioneer's License you will need to come into the office to apply in person.  See the Missouri Revised Statute 343 for all detailed information regarding Public Auctioneers. 

Auctioneer License Fees:

  • 10 Days - $7.00
  • 1 Month - $12.00
  • 3 Months- $22.00
  • 6 Months - $32.00
  • 12 Months - $52.00


Peddler/Solicitor License

A Peddler's License is needed if you are selling products door-to-door.  Please complete the application and submit in person at the Jefferson County Administration Building.  You may also mail your application along with your fee from the schedule below.  You must include a copy of your current Driver's License/State ID.

Jefferson County Peddler's License Application 

  • 3 Months - $10.00
  • 6 Months - $20.00
  • 12 Months -  $40.00